“Anna Begins”

“Anna Begins” is a song by the Counting Crows that I would love even if it wasn’t the only song I know with my name in the title. It’s a beautiful song, really. But I have to be honest and say that the song has very little to do with this blog. I also have to be honest and say that I’m still not totally sure what the purpose of this blog is really. I’d like to have a space to write and to post pictures that isn’t a social network with likes and hashtags and such. Other than that, we’ll just have to see.

Here’s something I have thought about, though. Anna Begins is actually a pretty good title for this little experiment. Why?

1. I guess it’s kinda catchy.

2. I hope this blog will be a place for me to write and to show what I am learning about taking photographs, which is a “beginning” for me. I am excited to be learning something new and eventually sharing it with others.

3. I have always loved beginnings. One of the reasons that I love teaching is that, unlike most working adults, I still live my life on a school year schedule. And I am not talking about the vacations (although you will never hear me complain about breaks!). I mean that each August is a fresh start, not just for the kids, but for me too. Remember that hopeful feeling as a kid before school began that this year would be different?  I have that feeling every year at the beginning of August, that feeling that this year will be just a little bit better than last. This built-in August promise of renewal and new beginnings has become part of the fabric of who I am.

4. Not to get too philosophical here, but aren’t we all beginners at this thing called life? 🙂 Each new day is the first time we have ever lived this day, the first time we have ever lived this long, the first time we will ever have this particular set of experiences. On the most mundane of days, that’s a pretty helpful and optimistic thought. I start to worry when my mindset veers toward the “been there, done that” model. With any luck, this space will help me remember to see things with the hopeful eye of a beginner.

Oh, and fair warning:

5. I am really great at beginning things and not always so great at following through, so we’ll see how this goes! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

