Power’s Out! Time to Practice with the Rule of Thirds

About four o’clock this morning my power went out with two loud booms. A tree fell and brought down with it several power lines, a transformer, and a power pole. Luckily no one was hurt!

IMG_1565

What this meant for my morning was that I was bombarded with loud, grinding noises as the crew worked to restore power, and I was also faced with a bit of uncertainty. My car was trapped behind a garage door that relied on electricity to operate and that I hoped would be open in time for me to make it to a lunch date with dear old friends and a visit to meet another friend’s brand new baby. Having absolutely no control over the power situation and desiring to remove myself from the loud noise situation, I decided to go take some pictures.

I have been learning a little bit about composition and wanted to practice with the “rule of thirds.” Lucky for me I live very close to the community-changing, neighborhood-improving wonder that is the Atlanta Beltline, so I headed that way.

IMG_0826

I walked down the busy street, passing by Atlanta drivers frustrated by the closed road and the change in their morning routine, police officers directing traffic, and Georgia Power workers trying to fix the problem as expeditiously as they could, and I hurried around the corner to Ardmore Park and its entrance to the Beltline.

The light was soft and gorgeous, and most importantly the space was quiet and peaceful.

I ended up with two photos I like:

IMG_0799

The chain in the forefront is perfectly lined up on the left one-third vertical line, and the bottom of the triangle loop is lined up on the bottom one-third horizontal line – no cropping. I like the various lines of the photo, such as the horizon between the playground and the walkway. Here is the image again with the rule of thirds grid added to the photo:

Screen Shot 2014-06-25 at 8.40.24 PM

The entrance to the Beltline walkway is underneath an active railroad track supported by wooden beams that create a very striking sight. I had trouble capturing what makes this spot so interesting, so I’ll have to figure out how to approach it, but this picture is a start. The lines and colors and perspective make this structure an awesome sight.

IMG_0809

See what happens when I add the rule of thirds grid to the picture.

Screen Shot 2014-06-25 at 8.43.34 PM

Kinda cool! That horizontal beam sits right on the line.

All in all, it was a good morning considering the chaos surrounding me. Though many of my attempts this morning were not terribly interesting or successful, I got some good practice, and I am eager to learn more about how to thoughtfully compose a picture.

And my day just continued to improve. Power was restored, the garage door opened, and I got to visit with old friends and meet my newest!

Leave a Reply

