A New Infection to the Eye

Take thou some new infection to thy eye, and the rank poison of the old will die.

Benvolio – Romeo and Juliet, Act 1, Scene 2, Lines 49-50

For about a week, I have been riddled with a horrendous, viral eye infection. The whites of my eyes have turned a bright, blood red, a sight that continues to shock and terrify me each time I look in the mirror. I’ve had a fever for most of this time and have been spending my hours sleeping, watching 80s movies (Breakfast Club, Can’t Buy Me Love, and my favorite, The Karate Kid), and trying to work but having trouble staying focused. I am a prisoner in my own home because I am, according to the doctor, highly contagious, and I do not want to inflict this illness on anyone else! My sweet father brought me groceries the other day, and I wouldn’t let him touch ANYTHING in the condo, not even a doorknob.

As I started to come out of my fog today, six days into the fun, I realized I had been repeating to myself the quote from Romeo and Juliet above. It just keeps coming to me at random moments. You see, I teach the play, and we tend to read most of it aloud in class, so at this point, I have practically memorized huge portions of the text. This is a line that always stands out early on, as Romeo’s friend Benvolio tries to counsel him to find a new object for his affection and to forget about Rosaline, the “rank poison” who doesn’t love Romeo anyway.

Let’s put aside the fact that Benvolio is comparing women to eye infections. I mean, what a horrible thing to be compared to! And, Benvolio, why would you ever suggest that a friend willingly take on an eye infection?? It’s miserable, and gross, and deeply uncomfortable… I mean, really! What kind of friend are you, Benvolio?

Oh, it’s a metaphor, you say? Well, ok…

So these lines have been a constant refrain for me in the midst of my illness. And oddly, my mind has wandered to photography. Maybe it’s that I am excited about starting a new class next week and hopefully learning new things. Maybe it’s a sense of guilt that I have not updated this blog in a while, and I feel a need to add something new. Who knows? But I am ready to take on a new infection to my eye. And I am certainly ready for the rank poison of my current infection to die!

Well, today, I took out the camera and took some shots of Sadie in the living room with nothing but natural light coming through the windows. I was careful not to let my infected eye touch the viewfinder. 🙂 Here is a sweet one. I don’t think she was too excited about being woken up from her nineteen hour nap.

IMG_1829

And since it has been so long since I have posted anything, I thought I would post some of my favorite shots from the summer. Some areas I want to work on are understanding more about exposure levels and gaining more confidence when it comes to composition.

Paris

IMG_1165

IMG_1226

IMG_1252_2

IMG_1295

IMG_1379

England

IMG_1432

IMG_1529

Switzerland

IMG_1647

IMG_1631

IMG_1712

2 thoughts on “A New Infection to the Eye

  1. Hi friend. I loved hearing you talk Shakespeare. I wish I could remember more quotes than “is this a dagger I see before me?” And ” e tu brute?” And “what a wicked web we weave…” I would like a list if your favs so I could sound smarter up here in the burgh. Lovely pics too!

Leave a Reply

